Bristol, UK
School of Health and Social Care

The School has three academic Departments reflecting the diversity of the learning opportunities available. The School uses the title 'Department' to group academic staff and courses together, some other Universities use the term department or division. A Department is made up of a range of academic staff that have particular expertise and qualifications in either a single subject area or a variety of subject areas that relate to the work of the department. Each Department has a Head who along with a dedicated team of lecturers ensure that learning opportunities meet the needs of our students. The three departments are:

* Nursing and Midwifery

* Allied Health Professions

* Applied Social Sciences and Community

The School of Health and Social Care was created in 1996 when the former Avon and Gloucestershire College of Health and Bath and Swindon College of Health Studies joined with the existing Faculty of Health and Community Studies at UWE. This major development saw the creation of one of the largest and most significant educational communities specialising in health and social care education and research in the UK.

The School is involved in a number of research projects and has developed strong links with health and social care communities.